Metal Metaphor

I made a sculpture to represent the metaphor of children having their their eyes glued to the TV screen. The metaphor means that they were just very interested in what was on the TV and their eyes were fixed on it. My sculpture took the literal approach. I used copper for the chair, mesh for the person, silver for the cushion and TV, and gold for the fine details, and wire for the antenna. I think the project was a huge success and turned out better than I thought it to be. It was definitely one of my favorite sculptures through the year. I think I did good with making the metal work seem neat and not crinkled. If I could go back and do it again I would try to make the legs of the chair more balanced and the same length.

Leave a Reply

