Paper Sculpture: Thinking Process

Ideas and Development

I was asked to do an artwork based on instumentalism which was an art that represents a social issue. I had to use 3D art in the project such as pop ups, and 3D paper shapes. The project was graded on my Craftsmanship, Concept, Composition, and having ownership to the project.

I managed to do all that was asked like putting my name on the artwork. I did craftsmanship when I tried to make the glue not spill out and made my cuts as straight as possible. I represented my concept clearly by putting a tired person watching the computer as someone plays soccer outside. There are also words that say to go outside.

My initial thoughts had  making this project was technology. I had three choices which were when children gained freedom of technology, cyberbullying, and too much technology. I ended up choosing too much technology because  felt I could represent it best. If I had done cyberbullying I probably would have created a sculpture that shows someone with depression while the bully keeps saying mean comments.

Form and Process

I used a X-acto knife to cut the paper, particularly the letters. I used a lot of glue to glue the 3D shapes down used a huge cutting board with cutter to trim down the base. There are also pencils drawings with the faces, soccer ball, and the Cheetos in the trash.

I found that there are many things I struggled with for the project. Gluing down the cylinders were hard to do as they don’t have easy long tabs like rectangles. I also found it hard to cut curved letters with a X-acto knife. Last, I found it hard to measure and cut the precise pieces that would fit the artwork.

IMG_0222.JPG

Content and Mood

I think my artwork is effective in expressing its idea. This is because many teens can relate to this and when they think about it, the amount of time on technology is too much. Now that they recognize it they will feel guilty and try to go outside more.

The theme of the artwork is that many people even adults spend too much time with technology and we should be getting outside more to help future generations. Kids will become the next adults and we don’t want to have the future to be too consumed in technology, but rather look at the outside world in a different perspective.

I think that my artwork is kind of unusual. I may express a common problem, but my artwork is unique in the way I express it. I have somebody sitting at an computer and some food in their trash can. This can be very relatable as sometimes, we just don’t feel like doing anything. The artwork itself has two ops sites separated by a wall. One bring active and happy while the other tired and lazy.

Context

In my previous artwork, I depicted a scene of Harry Potter with a Shadowbox. Both were created with paper and had some 3D effect to it. There are not many similarities between the projects, but both also have some glueing to really make the piece come together.

In a Banks’s artwork it says to follow your dreams, but it is cancelled. Just like my artwork, people used to be active, but now we are entering the era of technology. Today, people sometimes quit when they are frustrated and don’t follow your dreams. Both the artworks represent that we should make a change in our life.

IMG_0285.JPG

When looking at other’s artwork I learned a lot of things that helped me build the artwork. First, I learned how to make basic shapes with paper and make them stand up. I expanded this with my sculpture. I also learned how an artwork is an example of instrumentalism nad how to weave it into the artwork, so that people can understand the message.

Leave a Reply

